What is Autosave?
In WordPress posts, autosave is a feature that automatically saves a user’s work. It is available in both the Block Editor and the Classic Editor.
More About Autosave
The autosave feature in WordPress can come in handy. It means users don’t need to save their work periodically.
Autosave can also prevent disastrous losses of valuable content. WordPress frequently alerts users that it is autosaving with a message at the top of the edit screen.
Autosave can be highly beneficial in case of connectivity issues, such as if a browser or server isn’t working. When this happens, WordPress automatically saves the most recent version of the live content and prompts the user to restore the latest autosave version once the connectivity issues are resolved. Autosave has been a default feature since WordPress 2.1.